Westford Conservation Trust

About Us

The Westford Conservation Trust is a private, non-profit, non-governmental organization incorporated in 1984 under Massachusetts law for the purpose of preserving land and other natural resources. The Trust is a charitable, 501-C3 organization, for which all donations are tax deductible. The Trust is run by a volunteer Board of Directors. Since its beginning, the Trust has acquired a number of open space areas and trails through both direct ownership and permanent conservation restrictions.

  • To preserve open land, water resources, wildlife and other natural resources.
  • To establish and maintain trails.
  • To preserve and protect historic sites.
  • To educate the public about the wise use of natural resources.

At present, membership stands at over 200 families who are interested in the protection of open space in Westford. We hold numerous parcels of land for the benefit of Westford's citizens and wildlife, and hold easements on over 60 trails in town. We organize educational walks for Westford schools, scout groups, and families, and sponsor Westford Academy scholarships. We sponsor the Westford Wildlife Watch column printed monthly in the Westford Eagle. We work with the Town government to help secure open space parcels and to pass other open space initiatives.

The Westford Conservation Trust is often mistaken for the Westford Conservation Commission, which is a governmental function of the Town of Westford. The Commission members are appointed by the Selectmen for three year terms. They are the Town body responsible for protection of Westford natural resources with major responsibility for administration of the State's Wetlands Protection Act and the Westford Wetland By-law.

Frequently asked questions about the Trust.

Trust Mailer

The Trust periodically mails out a brochure town-wide to raise awareness of the Trust and attract new members. Read it

Westford Conservation Trust Officers and Directors

As our by-laws require, Directors, Associate Directors, the Clerk and the Treasurer are voted into office by the membership of the Trust at the Annual Meeting on the first Thursday in November each year. A nominating committee presents a slate, and nominations are also taken from the floor. The President and Vice President are elected by the Board at the next Board meeting. Other positions are appointed by the Board at various times.

President Ron Gemma
Vice President Diane Duane
Treasurer Nancy Eberiel
Clerk Richard Strazdas
Directors Lisa Groves
Alden Wood
Gerald DiBello
Rosemarie Koester
Emily Edwards
Honorary Directors Marian Harman
Bill Harman
C. Thomas Paul
Associate Directors Elizabeth McGuire
Leonard Palmer
Andrew Sammarco
Joel Tedford
Carol Wing

Westford Conservation Trust Committees

Newsletter Gerald DiBello
Land and Trails Ron Gemma
Membership Leonard Palmer
Scholarship Rosemarie Koester
Invasive Species Management Ron Gemma
Outreach and Public Relations Gerald DiBello
Lisa Groves
Water Quality Diane Duane
Webmaster Mike D'Antuono

Names of chairpersons are as indicated.

Who We Are
Frequently Asked Questions
Monthly Meetings
Our Mailer


Read our latest newsletter.
Subscribe to the e-newsletter below.

Subscribe to Our Mailing List

Hot Topics
Westford Invasive SpeciesMore
Westford Stream TeamMore

Trails Booklet
Get the Westford Trails Booklet for $5 at Roudenbush Community Center or Town Clerk's office.

Search for
Top | Home | About | Trails | News | Land | Join | Contact | Photos | Links

Copyright © 2003-2014 Westford Conservation Trust. All rights reserved.